Rohit Sharma breaks MS Dhoni's record in T20Is

Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team got the better of South Africa by 8 wickets at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram.

Rohit Sharma and Co drew first blood in the three-match T20I series.

In the process, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma went past MS Dhoni's record to clinch most T20I wins as captain in a calendar year.

Under MS Dhoni's captaincy, India won 15 T20Is in the year 2016. Meanwhile, Rohit edged past MS Dhoni as he steered India to 16th win under his tutelage.